Page 1 of 1

Cannot find the background html for this block

PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 10:59 pm
by tivoli
Please look at this page at the top, the dark brown box. I cannot locate the html to change the color for this dark brown background. Any tips? I have no idea how I put the text color in, and now cannot find the background html for that plus the background. Thank you.

http://www.pbase.com/susanckd/garden_2002__2003

Re: Cannot find the background html for this block

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 12:31 am
by arjunrc
susanckd wrote:Please look at this page at the top, the dark brown box. I cannot locate the html to change the color for this dark brown background. Any tips? I have no idea how I put the text color in, and now cannot find the background html for that plus the background. Thank you.

http://www.pbase.com/susanckd/garden_2002__2003


The general process to make such edits is:

1. Do a "view->source" and search for the text.
2. Edit your css, locate the element, and change its properties (to edit css, go to "edit gallery" and then "edit style sheets")

In this case,
step 1: shows that <h2> is being used for this display
so,
step 2: open up the CSS, search for h2 and change its properties

Also, you may want to go through a basic HTML and CSS tutorial (search google) - may help you going forward.

regds
arjun

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 12:44 am
by tivoli
Thank you. I had suspected that it was h2, but look at this html that I lifted. I had changed the background and color values and it does not seem to change:

}
h1, h2 {
border: rgb(95, 121, 216) 3px dotted;
border-left: 4px none;
border-right: 4px none;
border-top: 4px none;
margin-bottom: 1em;
margin-left: -10px;
margin-right: 0px;
padding: 5px;
width: 100%;
display: block;
background: #999966;
color: #999966;
font-size: 16px;
font-weight: bold;
letter-spacing: 4px;
text-align: right;
height: 21px;
position: relative;
filter:
progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.gradient(gradientType=1,enabled='true',startColorstr
='#000000',endColorstr='#2D2D2D');
}

It is done in webdev. Did I do something wrong? Thank you again!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:02 am
by arjunrc
Susan,
you got the right piece of code.

I suspect the situation is this:
a) You are using IE browser
b) IE understands that funny looking Filter: line in h2 - and that is applied on 'top' of any background you specify

So, even if you were to change background, the filter value would 'paint over it'

So what you need to do is to change the color values in the filter line within h2 -> it applies a gradient between the two colors you specify.

Alternately, delete the filter line, and just use a solid colored background

regds
arjun

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 1:40 am
by tivoli
Thank you so much!