Board index PBase News PBase Maps Beta

News

PBase Maps Beta

ed_sawyer
 
Posts: 397

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:35 am


How do we eliminate the map data once it is set? It seems to me that we should be able to undo anything that we do on PBase, such as geotagging, adding lens data, etc.

Ed

suzy_walker
 
Posts: 116

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Mon Mar 31, 2008 4:49 pm


Hi All

I really love this new feature! I had a great afternoon carefully remembering all the places around Venice that I took my photos.

However it was very tedious putting on a whole evening of Masked ball photos (i.e a whole gallery of photos taken in one place) one by one. I understand where Slug is coming from but I really think we need a way of placing an entire gallery of pictures on the same spot (and not one by one). My wrist aches now, I believe people won’t really use this feature to its full potential unless this option is added (I think the *new feature* joy has worn off for me now).

http://maps.pbase.com/suzy_walker

Many Thanks

Suzy

frim
 
Posts: 688

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:27 pm


There is a free download of software that will tag as many at a time as you want.

https://www.locr.com/


Stop by and see my map, I have mapped about 700 if my images. Some by hand some with my geo tager

http://maps.pbase.com/frim/map

bartelder
 
Posts: 5

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:37 am


I have geotagged my photos using Geosetter then uploaded them but am unable to view them on a map.
I manually did http://www.pbase.com/bartelder/image/95034448 and it shows up on the map fine but the rest of them in the gallery: http://www.pbase.com/bartelder/alaska_trip do not show up.

Can anyone help ? maybe pbase does not recognize the geo data from this program ?


Later.......................

nolock
 
Posts: 70

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:55 am


bartelder wrote:I have geotagged my photos using Geosetter then uploaded them but am unable to view them on a map.
I manually did http://www.pbase.com/bartelder/image/95034448 and it shows up on the map fine but the rest of them in the gallery: http://www.pbase.com/bartelder/alaska_trip do not show up.

Can anyone help ? maybe pbase does not recognize the geo data from this program ?


You would probably want to check & see where they are tagged in the EXIF data for the image, using a program such as Irfanview, or other EXIF viewer. Compare to the EXIF of a known geotagged image as it appears in Pbase. & make sure that the version of the image you are uploading actually is geotagged, some programs used to process or resize the image for uploading may not be bringing the geotag data to the resized image. Just a few thoughts...

bartelder
 
Posts: 5

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:34 am


nolock wrote:
bartelder wrote:I have geotagged my photos using Geosetter then uploaded them but am unable to view them on a map.
I manually did http://www.pbase.com/bartelder/image/95034448 and it shows up on the map fine but the rest of them in the gallery: http://www.pbase.com/bartelder/alaska_trip do not show up.

Can anyone help ? maybe pbase does not recognize the geo data from this program ?


You would probably want to check & see where they are tagged in the EXIF data for the image, using a program such as Irfanview, or other EXIF viewer. Compare to the EXIF of a known geotagged image as it appears in Pbase. & make sure that the version of the image you are uploading actually is geotagged, some programs used to process or resize the image for uploading may not be bringing the geotag data to the resized image. Just a few thoughts...



Here is the EXIF info, it shows the GPS data is in there.
Make - Canon
Model - Canon EOS 40D
Orientation - Top left
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
DateTime - 2008:04:01 10:00:28
WhitePoint - 0.31
PrimaryChromaticities - 0.64
YCbCrCoefficients - 0.30
YCbCrPositioning - Co-Sited
ExifOffset - 314
ExposureTime - 1/80 seconds
FNumber - 11
ExposureProgram - Shutter priority
ISOSpeedRatings - 200
ExifVersion - 0221
DateTimeOriginal - 2008:04:01 10:00:28
DateTimeDigitized - 2008:04:01 10:00:28
ComponentsConfiguration - YCbCr
ShutterSpeedValue - 1/83 seconds
ApertureValue - F 11.31
ExposureBiasValue - 0
MeteringMode - Multi-segment
Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
FocalLength - 30 mm
UserComment -
SubsecTime -
SubsecTimeOriginal -
SubsecTimeDigitized -
FlashPixVersion - 0100
ColorSpace - Uncalibrated (-1)
ExifImageWidth - 3888
ExifImageHeight - 2592
InteroperabilityOffset - 8236
FocalPlaneXResolution - 4438.36
FocalPlaneYResolution - 4445.97
FocalPlaneResolutionUnit - Inch
CustomRendered - Normal process
ExposureMode - Auto
White Balance - Auto
SceneCaptureType - Standard
GPS information: -
GPSVersionID - 2.2.0.0
GPSLatitudeRef - N
GPSLatitude - 42 27 47.17
GPSLongitudeRef - W
GPSLongitude - 122 56 55.00
GPSAltitudeRef - Sea level
GPSAltitude - 0 m
GPSTimeStamp - 17 2 33
Maker Note (Vendor): -
Macro mode - Normal
Self timer - Off
Quality - Fine
Flash mode - Not fired
Sequence mode - Single or Timer
Focus mode - AI Focus
Image size - Large
Easy shooting mode - Manual
Digital zoom - None
Contrast - Normal
Saturation - Normal
Sharpness - Low , -32769
ISO Value - 32767
Metering mode - Evaluative
Focus type - Auto
AF point selected -
Exposure mode - Tv-priority
Focal length - 17 - 85 mm (1 mm)
Flash activity - Not fired
Flash details -
Focus mode 2 - 65535
White Balance - Auto
Sequence number - 0
Flash bias - 0 EV
Subject Distance - 0
Image Type - Canon EOS 40D
Firmware Version - Firmware Version 1.0.5
Owner Name -
Camera Serial Number -
File number - 000 - 0000
Thumbnail: -
Compression - 6 (JPG)
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
JpegIFOffset - 8598
JpegIFByteCount - 10391

bartelder
 
Posts: 5

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 5:26 am


OK, I figured it out, I was using DPP to resize the photos in batch mode before I uploaded them and DPP strips the GPS data.
I am now using IrfanView to batch resize.

Thanks for putting up with me....................................

nolock
 
Posts: 70

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:27 pm


bartelder wrote:OK, I figured it out, I was using DPP to resize the photos in batch mode before I uploaded them and DPP strips the GPS data.
I am now using IrfanView to batch resize.


Yes, based on the EXIF you posted, I would have expected Pbase to pick that up.

pinemikey
 
Posts: 3065
Location: Cypress, Texas

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:16 pm


Hey guys, love the feature. Is there some way that you can move the "View Map" link off the same line as the image location? As it is, my location and the View Map spacing makes them appear off center on most of my stylesheets. If I may suggest that the "View Map" link be placed directly under the image midway between the date and the artist? If many object, then directly under the Location line would be great, too.

Thanks

ronsc
 
Posts: 707

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:58 pm


Yes, this is too cool!

I mapped two photos (same location):

http://www.pbase.com/ronsc/image/95138910/original

http://www.pbase.com/ronsc/image/95075535/original

At this rate, I should have my other 1,000 photos geotagged by about this time next year. Nonetheless, I like it!

Thank you PBase :D

rllgl
 
Posts: 3

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:30 pm


I love this feature too......the "view map" beside the picture and above the title seems a bit small, no.....? :roll:

http://www.pbase.com/rllgl/le_havre

andywilson
 
Posts: 29

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:15 am


Love this feature.

One suggestion (if it's already been suggested then consider this a "seconded"). Would it be possible to add further photos to an existing tag? I have many photos from some sites - it would be great to add these quickly by clicking on a tag and then clicking on a image to add it.

Thanks again for a neat addition.

ckirby
PBase Admin
PBase Admin
 
Posts: 85

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:22 pm


andywilson wrote:One suggestion (if it's already been suggested then consider this a "seconded"). Would it be possible to add further photos to an existing tag? I have many photos from some sites - it would be great to add these quickly by clicking on a tag and then clicking on a image to add it.

The fastest way to do what you want to do is to position an image, save it, click on the next image you want with the same position and it will be positioned in the same place as the last image you had open so you can save it right away, rinse and repeat. That's only 2n clicks for n images, however that's still pretty annoying for high values of n. Rest assured, I will work on getting that number of clicks down to something like n+1 or even 1 or 2 (tag a whole gallery at once).

lambsfeathers
 
Posts: 318
Location: Outer Sydney, Australia

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:20 pm


This is a great way to waste time and I have tagged several hundred pictures. Easy when you have high-res satellite pictures, but when there is a only a fuzzy picture and not much map, two problems arise: You move the map around looking for that particular bend in the road where you stood five years ago taking photographs, and when you find it, the tear-drop thing is somewhere else altogether. It would be an improvement if the tear-drop thing stayed in the middle of the map as you moved it. And that rectangular panel (window? balloon?) takes up too much room, making it more difficult to find what you are looking for anyway. But it's great fun.

pinemikey
 
Posts: 3065
Location: Cypress, Texas

Re: PBase Maps Beta

Post Fri Apr 25, 2008 3:32 pm


Just click on the teardrop and drag and it will move with the map.

PreviousNext

Board index PBase News PBase Maps Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests