Board index PBase News new feature: slideshow function *UPDATED 7/16*

News

new feature: slideshow function *UPDATED 7/16*

arielen
 
Posts: 18


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:30 pm


Thank you PBase staff, my slideshow is running again and I think it is better than before. I managed to add border on it. Oooppps :wink: , I copied the border code from someone else. Thanks.

ctstone
PBase Admin
PBase Admin
 
Posts: 166


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 2:36 pm


andrys wrote:Just FEEDBACK on intervals

The default 5 seconds was exactly 5 seconds.

The new '2' seconds choice is exactly 4 seconds though.

The new '1' second choice is 2 seconds.

Those include any fade, but the 5-second one really was 5 seconds,
so the '2' is almost as long, at 4 seconds.

The '1' is a bit fast at 2 seconds, but it's better than too slow, unless
it unnerves the viewer trying to read your info.


There was a bug that might have defaulted some custom delay timings to 5 seconds. This is fixed now and you should see faster transitions, if desired.

The fade time is always 0.3 seconds. People on a slow connection will have the load time of the next image tacked on to the display time of the current image, but for most viewers 2 seconds should be sufficient load time.

The shortest delay time that we allow is 2 seconds. So a 1 second delay is not possible.
Chris
Pbase Team

rsbfotos
 
Posts: 372


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:41 pm


andrys wrote:Just FEEDBACK on intervals

The new '2' seconds choice is exactly 4 seconds though.

The new '1' second choice is 2 seconds.

Those include any fade, but the 5-second one really was 5 seconds,
so the '2' is almost as long, at 4 seconds.

The '1' is a bit fast at 2 seconds, but it's better than too slow, unless
it unnerves the viewer trying to read your info.

Thanks for that confirmation. Had to wait until this morning at work (with a hi-speed connection) to check the delay speed I had set last night at home. My home connection is a dialup and it appears to go no faster than 5 or 6 sec. Quite often even as long as 12 sec.

At work the delay didn't appear to be working correctly. Thought I was doing something wrong trying to get a 3 sec delay until I read your test report.

ctstone wrote:There was a bug that might have defaulted some custom delay timings to 5 seconds. This is fixed now and you should see faster transitions, if desired.


Now that the "bug" has been removed, a 3 second delay is working just fine. -- Thanks

arjunrc
 
Posts: 1003


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:57 pm


Chris,
had another feature request for consideration:

Right now, it looks like all the images are 'centered' in the alloted slideshow box. This results in horizontal images to have significant blank space on top while vertical images fill in nicely. So in a gallery of mostly horizontal images, there is a large gap. Is it possible to add a parameter called align
align=>top - aligns images to the top of the box
=>center (Default)
=>left
=>right
=>bottom

(I need top, specifically ;-)

regds
arjun
--
I don't check forums very often these days, so if you need to get a response from me, please send me an email (see my profile) and NOT a PM.

henrylw
 
Posts: 7


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:06 pm


OK, the slideshow works, many thanks! But how do I position it? I used the javascript from http://www.cryer.co.uk as well, and wonder if I can just replace the table cell which orginally had javascript slideshow to this new one. I see the new slideshow code creates a table at top/left corner of the page and push everything else down, how do I reposition it to just replace the old slideshow?

Thanks again,
Henry

henrylw
 
Posts: 7


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:23 pm


Never mind, just figured out.

ctstone
PBase Admin
PBase Admin
 
Posts: 166


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:41 pm


arjunrc wrote:Chris,
had another feature request for consideration:

Right now, it looks like all the images are 'centered' in the alloted slideshow box. This results in horizontal images to have significant blank space on top while vertical images fill in nicely. So in a gallery of mostly horizontal images, there is a large gap. Is it possible to add a parameter called align


Arjun,

This can now be done in CSS. You will need to add the following to your stylesheet:

Code: Select all
#inline_slideshow td {
    vertical-align: top;
    text-align: right;
}


The default behavior is still to center the image in both directions.
Chris
Pbase Team

arjunrc
 
Posts: 1003


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:47 pm


Thanks - I never really managed to figure out the right order of using them "#" identifiers in CSS - your example works.

Final feature request:

Please consider adding toggle as a parameter. When enabled, it will show a show/hide option to the JS script.

regds
arjun
--
I don't check forums very often these days, so if you need to get a response from me, please send me an email (see my profile) and NOT a PM.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 9:51 pm


arjunrc wrote:Please consider adding toggle as a parameter. When enabled, it will show a show/hide option to the JS script...


Nice flash substitute, Arjun !

Chris, thanks for the quick fix on the interval. And for the way to
control placement in the css. Since valign never worked this is good.

One thing for both Arjun and Chris. I run at 1024x768 but changed
my screen to 1280 temporarily to check how things looked, and
saw that my particular table of picture and then text on the right
showed the image left-aligned in its cell though it is always centered
horizontally in the other resolution. I then did a td align to center the
image and it was then centered at the 1280 pixel resolution too.

(I use the slideshow function within a table with text on the right.)

Maybe just an oddity on my monitor that this happened though!

arjunrc
 
Posts: 1003


Post Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:29 pm


Nice flash substitute, Arjun !


Thanks Andrys - as one longtime pbase member reminded me by email - it makes less sense to use external slideshows now that PBase has worked so hard to produce such a great internal one :-)

I use 1280 all the time at office, and when I viewed my root gallery, I did not see that oddity you mention. Incidentally, nor did I see any difference in speed between your root and other gallery (refer your earlier thread).

regds
arjun
--
I don't check forums very often these days, so if you need to get a response from me, please send me an email (see my profile) and NOT a PM.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:39 am


Well, Arjun, I like the way your old flash routine does the Show/Hide slide
show option. Not important to me but it does it well.

UPDATE: Thanks again for checking on my two galleries for the prob
with the main page on a machine with less RAM maybe.

Here's the reason, for anyone else who might be in the same situation:
=======
It turns out I had table percentage-widths for my home page (for
slide show/text table and menu options above and below slideshow)
which were different for each and which also conflicted with the
edit-gallery's overall percentage-width field-value for the page.

Then I had a bottom portion that was not in a table. Apparently
something in all this made the pbase processes stop and think about
the various widths it was being given and THEN how it would need to
RE-align text in the slide-table text-cell enough to match the total
page width at the end of all this.

I've made all the widths the same and then put the bottom portion
into a table of the same percentage-width just in case, and now it's
displaying normally. No big stall as before, as there was no need to
re-align text now.

Thanks for letting me know it wasn't problematical to faster systems
though!

caeneno
 
Posts: 10

A test in my root-gallery design

Post Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:39 am


I am waiting for the great option"recent" for the slideshow !
http://www.pbase.com/caeneno/pixelblog_test
Image

annayu
 
Posts: 488


Post Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:57 am


Thank you pBase for a quick fix. Beautiful simplicity.

Is there a way of incorporating music to the slideshow? Like the one I made as a link on

http://www.pbase.com/annayu

Kinda buggy because the QT movie takes a while to load. It would be wonderful if we could insert a short audio file in the slideshow, which loads immediately.

Many thx/Anna

storybookweddings
 
Posts: 17


Post Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:07 pm


I support that suggestion.

And for even beter control, perhaps a few transition effects too.

pinemikey wrote:Feedback Item 1

Might you also add a fade-in/fade-out time? Obviously nothing excessive, but sometimes I like the more relaxing feel of a slow image fade-in/fade-out.

madlights
 
Posts: 911


Post Thu Jul 19, 2007 10:10 am


Just like to say thanks PBase for the attention to detail when javascript was disabled (the re enable of statcounter especially) and the new slideshow works great.

PreviousNext

Board index PBase News new feature: slideshow function *UPDATED 7/16*

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests