Board index PBase News new feature: slideshow function *UPDATED 7/16*

News

new feature: slideshow function *UPDATED 7/16*

tim32225
 
Posts: 89

UPDATE: got it solved

Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:29 pm


Thanks to those who emailed me to help. Finally what worked was inserting breaks after the beginning of the new table where the slideshow starts, instead of in front of it.

This stuff is confusing for me, and I appreciate the help from Andrys and Dang.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701

Re: Inserting the breaks didn't have any effect...

Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:45 pm


tim32225 wrote:Thanks for the help. I tried inserting breaks before the slideshow


Before the Table statement? It should, though ... It should start the table lower, which should help...

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 12:46 pm


Ah, just before the slideshow statement. That make sense!

mikelong
 
Posts: 670


Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:41 pm


The new slideshow rocks, much easier using SLIDESHOW(gallery) than messing around with all that code like before. I am curious, however, why my home page formats better with Firefox than IE.
Mike Long Photography

lastingimpressions2002
 
Posts: 5

Trying to test this change. . . .need help ! ! !

Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:02 pm


I tried to do this SLIDESHOW change in a test gallery and I get the Box with a red "X" in it, Format error? can someone please help? :shock:

http://www.pbase.com/lastingimpressions ... _galleries

lastingimpressions2002
 
Posts: 5

Nevermind to previous post. . .

Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:05 pm


I figured it out . . .thanks!

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:24 pm


mikelong wrote:The new slideshow rocks, much easier using SLIDESHOW(gallery) than messing around with all that code like before. I am curious, however, why my home page formats better with Firefox than IE.
Mike Long Photography


I agree with you about Chris's flexible, easy-to-use slideshow feature !

Anyway, IE, for reasons unknown to me (others may know though),
interprets differently the Table width of '800' (pixels) in Luis's code

I made two changes in an editor (to change 800 pixels option
to 80% of screen instead) to see what that would do.

==============================================

- At the beginning of your user-description box in edit-gallery, you have:

--- <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=800 border=0>

--- Change that to:
----- <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=85% border=0>


- A few lines down in Luis' table, you have

--- <TABLE class=luis cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=800 border=0>

--- Change that to:
----- <TABLE class=luis cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=85% border=0>

==============================================

IE interprets percentage-width better than it does pixel statements from
what I can see, and percentage-widths are more flexible for different
sizes of screens.

Also, to see what the table widths really look like when testing,
change the "border=0" to "border=1" to get a better idea of how much
each table-data-cell has.

Then change them back to "border=0" to have a cleaner look.

See if that works for you. Could be just my setup...

mikelong
 
Posts: 670


Post Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:09 am


Thanks Andrys. I tried that but it pushed everything above the thumbnail galleries far off to the left. Will play around with the percentage widths and border to see if I can't get it to align better. Ultimately it's just the text to the right of the slideshow that's off when viewed with IE.
Mike
Mike Long Photography

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:09 am


mikelong wrote:Thanks Andrys. I tried that but it pushed everything above the thumbnail galleries far off to the left. Will play around with the percentage widths and border to see if I can't get it to align better. Ultimately it's just the text to the right of the slideshow that's off when viewed with IE.
Mike
Mike Long Photography


Mike, the below should work. I tried it, using your stylesheet:

After the 2nd table statement where you use, say 80% instead of
800 pixels, the first table-data-cell should read with the add'l parameter
of ' align="center" ' -- this is the code change I tested:

<TD vAlign=bottom colSpan=3 align="center"><!--- menu starts here --->

mikelong
 
Posts: 670


Post Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:51 am


Thanks again, that worked perfectly.
Mike

tikouka
 
Posts: 19


Post Wed Jul 25, 2007 12:29 am


Thanks to pBase people and all other commentators for enabling and finetuning this option. It is great that people with no html experience (like me) can do something like this. Cheers

sheila
 
Posts: 1303

Re: Nevermind to previous post. . .

Post Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:16 am


lastingimpressions2002 wrote:I figured it out . . .thanks!


I am getting the red X too! What did you do, please, to get the slide show to work (and no red x!).

Cheers
Sheila

PS Just returned from Europe and wondered where the heck my slide show went!
Sheila Smart
Canon 5D Mark III; 17-40L; 24-70 f/2.8L; 70-300 f.4-5.6 L USM; 135 f/2L; 100 f/2.8 macro; 8-15 f/4 L fisheye

Blog: http://sheilasmartphotography.blogspot.com/

andrys
 
Posts: 2701

Re: Nevermind to previous post. . .

Post Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:18 am


sheila wrote:
lastingimpressions2002 wrote:I figured it out . . .thanks!


I am getting the red X too! What did you do, please, to get the slide show to work (and no red x!).

Cheers
Sheila

PS Just returned from Europe and wondered where the heck my slide show went!


I expect a lot of quality pics ! In the meantime, why not give us the
link to your testing gallery in case someone can help.

Also, it could be just a missing comma. Safest thing is no spaces at all.

sheila
 
Posts: 1303


Post Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:39 am


Sheila Smart
Canon 5D Mark III; 17-40L; 24-70 f/2.8L; 70-300 f.4-5.6 L USM; 135 f/2L; 100 f/2.8 macro; 8-15 f/4 L fisheye

Blog: http://sheilasmartphotography.blogspot.com/

isabel95
 
Posts: 170

Re: Possibly this only works with galleries having one word

Post Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:03 am


Belated thanks, Arjun!
Isabel
arjunrc wrote:
isabel95 wrote:Tried it with one word name and it worked, but it didn't work with galleries having longer names.
Isabel


Make sure you are using the gallery name and not the title name. For example, for a gallery with a title of "My Favourites" the gallery name would be my_favourites (there should be no spaces)
regds
arjun

PreviousNext

Board index PBase News new feature: slideshow function *UPDATED 7/16*

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests