Board index PBase News support for statcounter.com

News

support for statcounter.com

jypsee
 
Posts: 1245

Re: no, that's not what I meant

Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:41 pm


ok... thanks for the info. That sure makes things easier :roll:

andrys wrote:
jypsee wrote:If I make a stat counter account and the only project I have is the root page and I enter the numbers from the code for the root page project on the pbase account update page, will stat counter track all my galleries and photos from that one (root) project?


Yes.

I just responded to your pmail too, to that effect.

I know it's hard to believe pbase has made it so easy, but they have !

- Andrys
PS - We need this info on the account page in statcounter section ...

ctstone
PBase Admin
PBase Admin
 
Posts: 166

Re: no, that's not what I meant

Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:46 pm


jypsee wrote:If I make a stat counter account and the only project I have is the root page and I enter the numbers from the code for the root page project on the pbase account update page, will stat counter track all my galleries and photos from that one (root) project?


Yes. And you will now get much better results by gathering data from many different pages. Do not think of it as your "root project" - instead think of it as your "PBase project."
Chris
Pbase Team

andrys
 
Posts: 2701

Re: no, that's not what I meant

Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:50 pm


ctstone wrote:
jypsee wrote:If I make a stat counter account and the only project I have is the root page and I enter the numbers from the code for the root page project on the pbase account update page, will stat counter track all my galleries and photos from that one (root) project?


Yes. And you will now get much better results by gathering data from many different pages. Do not think of it as your "root project" - instead think of it as your "PBase project."


Exactly. I just replied to a pmail that asked if AT Statcounter, they should have more than one project for pbase. The answer is as you said.

Chris, could you guys add to acct page statcounter area that people
should not install code on their root pages. Some have, per my Yahoo mail and here (because they read Statcounter instructions to do that).

dang
 
Posts: 3780


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:52 pm


Once again, since we've gone to another page.


When you go to http://www.statcounter.com and sign up, you'll read their steps to set up an account and project. Once this is done, copy the code.

Do NOT put the entire code into the description area of any gallery, including the root gallery.


Instead, go to your Profile page and click "edit account settings".
Scroll to the very bottom, and you'll see three boxes to enter information. Each box has a name which corresponds to the names in the statcounter code.

Look in the code Statcounter provided, find and add the numbers.

Click "update", and you're done.

Once it's been included in your galleries for awhile, you'll go back to statcounter, sign in and view your stats there.

It tracks all galleries, and all photos automatically due to the great work of the Pbase Team.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701

WOW. Existing statcounter code we had earlier was removed

Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:09 pm


*** SLUG AND TEAM ***


OUTRAGEOUSLY FANTASTIC JOB !

I just found that you stripped the existing statcounter code so that
we don't have to !

THANK YOU, PBase Team !!!

(Glad to see the noscript-section is not run too!)

arjunrc
 
Posts: 1003


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:16 pm


--
I don't check forums very often these days, so if you need to get a response from me, please send me an email (see my profile) and NOT a PM.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:19 pm


arjunrc wrote:Here you go. Hope this helps

http://pbasewiki.srijith.net/howto/statcounter


Exellence in Action !!!!

("AKE changes and update..." should probably be put
lower though? )

Maybe Pbase acct page could just have a link to this
entry ! Wow. *Beautiful*, Arjun.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:23 pm


It would be very nice if I could spell 'excellent'

(The graphic for going to account page is cut off at the beginning.
Not sure the words to make changes & update should be there.)

Again, EXCELLENT beyond all reasonable expectations, Arjun.
Covered so many bases.

ONE possible addition, jypsee wondered if *at Statcounter* it
was needed to make more than one project, which it's not...

dang
 
Posts: 3780


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:24 pm


Fantastic Arjun.
Thanks!
Btw.. it seems there's a problem with 21 at statcounter right now (in case your on it). They said it's fixed, but will take awhile to get back going.

arjunrc
 
Posts: 1003


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:57 pm


Andrys - updated.
regds
arjun
--
I don't check forums very often these days, so if you need to get a response from me, please send me an email (see my profile) and NOT a PM.

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:10 pm


arjunrc wrote:Andrys - updated.
regds
arjun


Fantastic work on incorporating stuff (now you know you're read ;-) )

The explanations are really beautiful, Arjun. Thanks a LOT.

I think this will be a much-used and appreciated page.

PS - SIDE note, not for the help-page you did

re STATCOUNTER's older existing code in our galleries.
PBase has worked it so the source code for the final PBase page
does not include the old still existing code. It's blanked out.

So, there is no longer the javascript-info box staring at us when we
haven't removed the old Statcounter code, because PBase has
blanked that code for the page being displayed. I guess that's in
the process of ignoring that code.

However, the words remain in our gallery, ignored,
and we can eliminate them when we have time. No more ugly
javascript info boxes! This was a great solution
for those of us with the existing long Statcounter javascript that
had caused the warning explanation boxes for javascript.

bromic
 
Posts: 184
Location: Montreal, QC


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:44 am


Great Job ! Just followed arjunrc's instruction page and the stat counter was installed in a few minutes, and it works very well.

Thanks arjunrc and PBase admins !

ltobias
 
Posts: 58


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:08 am


slug wrote:ltobias -

Fixed. Thanks for pointing this out.
We had made the assumption that partition and security needed to be filled in. Apparently some statcounter accounts don't require those.
Maybe you have a very early statcounter account.

Anyway, your statcounter code is now showing up on your pages.

Thanks,
-slug


The code on my pages are gone. The information are still on my account page. I tried to update my account, but this doesn't help. Still no code in the source of my site.

Leif

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:15 am


ltobias wrote:The code on my pages are gone. The information are still on my account page. I tried to update my account, but this doesn't help. Still no code in the source of my site.

Leif


PBase mgmt is probably asleep, so I'll ask a couple of questions.

Are you sure you entered the exact numbers to match what Statcounter
has for you? If they're at all off, nothing will happen.

-- Also make sure that there are no trailing spaces after your numbers.
-- And that everything's in lower case

I do see no statcounter code from pbase on your main page or
your best images gallery. So, that is odd, since slug had checked your
page earlier. Maybe you made a change after that?

You could regenerate the code at Statcounter for your project and make
sure all numbers you get then match what you put into your pbase account
page.
Again, make sure there no trialing spaces after the numbers
and that everything's in lower case.

When I did it, it took only a couple of minutes before it started working
again. But it can take up to half an hour, I've heard.

It -could- be that the additions they made to 3rd party stats boxes
changed something that affected statcounter, but it' less likely...

Anyway, try that.

kerrym
 
Posts: 311


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:57 am


Wow - I'm so impressed! Thanks Heaps.

That's the easiest piece of code I've ever installed. I now have my statcounter working and all I had to do was put in those 3 numbers.

Thanks guys.
Kerry Mitchell NZ
http://www.pbase.com/kerrym

PreviousNext

Board index PBase News support for statcounter.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest