Board index Photography Artistic Questions Beginner - Depth of Field and Motion questions

Artistic Questions

Beginner - Depth of Field and Motion questions

Discuss style and artistic aspects of photography
rvaccha

Beginner - Depth of Field and Motion questions

Post Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:07 pm

Hi,
I am a beginner in Photography, taking a class at my University in Philadelphia.

I have to do an assignment which requires me to shoot a film with Depth of Field (Aperture) and Motion (Shutter Speed) Photographs.

Can anyone please suggest good subjects/objects to use for this assignment and if you know of any interesting locations in Philadelphia that will be great!

More details on the assignment below:

For the Depth of Field Photographs I need to find or create a subject that has a foreground, middle ground and background, and adjust the shutter speed and aperture.

For the Motion assignment I need to photograph a moving object while adjusting shutter spped and f-stop.

Thanks,
RJ

misschuff

Post Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:35 am

Hi RJ,

I'm a beginner too but a thought come to mind immediately that will satisfy both DOF and Motion - a train station.

You can stand on the end of the platform or on the overhead bridge.

Now what about flowing water - a river, water over rocks or it that's not available where you live the storm water drain?

Going on about these again what about a road with a bend in it, you again get the DOF and Motion, espeically at night with long shutter speeds and the 'blurred' action of the lights?

Go well,

Carlita

sheila

Post Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:37 am

That somewhat of a big ask! But I can direct you to an excellent website on photography, which has tutorials on many subjects - depth of field is here

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutor ... /dof.shtml

Here is a shot of pegs on a clothes line which is a good example of a shallow DOF

You will get this effect by using a long telephoto lens - in this case, my Canon 300 f/4L taken at f/4.

Cheers