Board index Photography Artistic Questions Editing Photos

Artistic Questions

Editing Photos

Discuss style and artistic aspects of photography
tombomb_27

Editing Photos

Post Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:40 pm

Hey everyone,
I wasn't sure where to post this topic but I think this is ok.
I'm fairly new to photography, but already I have learned the importance or copyright and ownership, and with that comes honesty. My question is, does a real photographer have to use the auto/preset setting on his/her camera or have to edit their photos in programs such as photoshop? I believe its ok to add copyright/watermark to your images, or even a nice boarder to make it look better, but is it ok to add colour filters or change the brightness/contrast, or anything like this in photoshop to enhance your photo? To me, that makes a photograph into a picture. Probably 80% of the time, I use full manual settings on my camera, and the only thing photoshop does is resize and add a watermark.

I'm wondering what most of the photographers on here believe is right or honest.

Is it you taking the photo, or is it the technology?

halesr

Post Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:38 pm

I am not sure whether RIGHT or HONEST have anything to do with it.

Film photohgraphers used the darkroom to aesthetic advantage. Would you also ban burning and dodging? Ah, no filters on the lens? What about special lenses like the Lensbaby? Those are all technical ways to manipulate a photo. I guess no split toning, no sepia toning, no NOTHING? How pure do these images have to be to be REAL photographs?

I think how you achieve your art and what tools you use is not as important as your results. Is it art? no matter how you got there. Lots of individuals on pbase even share whatever manipulations, or programs, or lenses they use so I don't think they are trying to hide anything.