Board index Equipment Digital Cameras How do you make waterfalls sooo smooth??

Digital Cameras

How do you make waterfalls sooo smooth??

prainluda

How do you make waterfalls sooo smooth??

Post Sun Jul 25, 2004 11:53 pm

Ok im really new to this whole shutter speeds and stuff but how do you get a waterfall to be really smooth? Ive tried setting the lense speed to 1/2 but then it goes way way to bright and nothing ever seems to be clear like some of the shots ive seen on this website.

ALSO another problem that could be solved. I like Night time shots but it seems like when I get to some places and keep my lense open for 4 seconds the lights have HUGE streaks. Kinda like wrestling pyro or something. Is there any way to fix that problem?

BTW im using a kodak easyshare dx6440

castledude

Re: How do you make waterfalls sooo smooth??

Post Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:58 am

prainluda wrote:Ok im really new to this whole shutter speeds and stuff but how do you get a waterfall to be really smooth? Ive tried setting the lense speed to 1/2 but then it goes way way to bright and nothing ever seems to be clear like some of the shots ive seen on this website.

BTW im using a kodak easyshare dx6440

Method 1 (traditional):

What you are going to need is a Neutral density (ND) filter and a tripod. This is like a pair of sunglasses for your camera and allows even less light in. So you will want to set the lowest ASA speed possible, Set the lens to the highest aperature then add ND filters so that you are exposing the scene for longer and longer times 1/10 second is prettty much a minimum with optimal times of over 1 second.

To attach the ND you might want to look into the Cokin system if you cannot find an adapter to allow screw filters. If you do use the Cokin system make sure to put black cardboard or something like it around the lens to filter coupling area to prevent stray light.

Method 2 (Photoshop):