Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Nikon D700 vs. Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Digital Cameras

Nikon D700 vs. Canon EOS 5D Mark II

zipperfoot

Nikon D700 vs. Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Post Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:11 am

I practice fashion photography (plan on going to school for it [photography] in fall of this year).
I have been considering either the Nikon D700 or the Canon EOS 5D Mk II, however, as there must always be, I have small issues with both cameras. (Keep in mind I have extremely little experience with both brands. I have been using Olympus for the past five years.)

With Nikon, it is that the Nikkor lenses always seem to have a bit of distortion, even if the lens is not wide-angle. Although, this perception could also be due to my lack of experience with them. They also seem to have quite a bit of vignetting. Both of these things, and, just typically the work I've seen done with Nikons (the D700 specifically) seem to be good for portraiture, landscape, and night scenes / architecture, whereas the work I've seen done by Canon (specifically, the 5D II) seems to be more up my alley in terms of processing and in terms of how the lenses and sensor are built.

However, I have seen / heard quite a few complaints about the 5D II, mainly that it is almost incapable of taking a truly sharp image, which greatly concerns me. I have viewed a lot of work done with this camera and seen the same thing as well.

A little help via opinions of people who have used both or either camera would be greatly appreciated, and extra points for links / examples. c:
Last edited by zipperfoot on Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

bug322

Re: Best idea for fashion camera?

Post Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:39 pm

6 years studie in photography and still don't know??
It is remarkable.
:roll:

zipperfoot

Re: Best idea for fashion camera?

Post Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:44 am

I should say, not formally studying. Just doing my own stuff. I've been using Olympus the whole time.