Board index Equipment Digital Cameras entering the world of DSLR and needs help!!!

Digital Cameras

entering the world of DSLR and needs help!!!

lboogie

entering the world of DSLR and needs help!!!

Post Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:16 am

Hello to all the good folks at PBase,

I'm currently faced with an ultimate decision of either going with Canon or Nikon. The cameras I've looked at are Rebel XSi and D90. For Rebel XSi, I found a low price tag at my local camera store ($550 US, including 18-55 kit lens and 4gb mem) while the D90 carries a relatively higher price tag which includes it's kits lens and it's more than twice as much as XSi.

I'm just starting out but, I'll be mostly using my dslr to take nigh shots and landscape pictures (which are the reasons why I want to get dslr in the first place). Also, I'm very serious about really getting my hands dirty in the world of photography. So far, I've had mixed opinions. Some tells me I should get the cheaper XSi and buy better lens with the money I could save, while the others tell me that XSi is outdated and that I should get D90 instead. Regardless of their opinions, one thing for sure is that once you stick with one brand, you're virtually stuck with that brand.

So, I'm wondering which brand offers better lens and accessories in terms of cost, quality, variability, and compatibility. Also, any advice as to which path I should take would be appreciated Nikon? Canon?

Thank you

rileypm

Re: entering the world of DSLR and needs help!!!

Post Sat Jul 11, 2009 3:10 am