Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Tamron SP AF 200-500mm f5-6.3 Di LD (IF)

Digital Cameras

Tamron SP AF 200-500mm f5-6.3 Di LD (IF)

toosnvetts

Tamron SP AF 200-500mm f5-6.3 Di LD (IF)

Post Tue Feb 17, 2009 8:29 pm

I would like to hear experiences with this lens. I am currently looking at a Canon 500mm 4L IS and it costs about 6 times as much as the Tamron. Now, I know Canon L Series primes are a gold standard and I love all my Canon lenses but I am not a professional photographer. I want to, leisurely, take pictures of birds in their natural environment. Birder input would be valued as most "good" birding happens in the early morning or late afternoon where the 5-6.3 aperture could become a factor. As a hobbyist, it might be acceptable.

Also is anyone familiar with the resale values of this type of Tamron lens? It may be possible to recoup most of the outlay if dissatisfied. Any information or links to good review sites are appreciated! :D

Oh, is this lens with the Canon mount accepting of the 1.4 Canon TC?

dang

Re: Tamron SP AF 200-500mm f5-6.3 Di LD (IF)

Post Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:54 pm

I'd suggest checking reviews via Google: http://www.google.com/search?q=review+T ... =firefox-a

As far as maintaining value, time will be the answer that. Usually, long zooms by after-market makers lose more return than camera makers lenses. Some of this is due to past problems where lenses stopped working when new bodies were released. Many of the older Sigma, and a few Tamron lenses suffered, requiring rechipping.

Read as much as possible, and you'll be able to make an informed decision.

Good luck, and have fun with whatever lens you get.

toosnvetts

Post Wed Feb 18, 2009 1:36 am