Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Do you use live view in Canon camera and why?

Digital Cameras

Do you use live view in Canon camera and why?

samiramis

Do you use live view in Canon camera and why?

Post Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:22 am

I am a bad photographer but do you talented people use live view with canon camera or look in viewfinder and take the photo?

When will you use live view and when will you not use it and why?

gracias.

ryxin

Re: Do you use live view in Canon camera and why?

Post Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:09 am

^-^ i don't have much known about that camera. as i am using Premier digi camera. anyways can you hear the music from your camera when you made some video?

akmc_in_au

Post Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:50 am

samiramis wrote:I am a bad photographer but do you talented people use live view with canon camera or look in viewfinder and take the photo?

When will you use live view and when will you not use it and why?

"Talented" may be stretching it in my case but I'll give you an answer anyway. :lol:

The main advantages of Live View seems to be twofold:
(a) When you want to take shots unobtrusively, such as candids. For example, http://www.pbase.com/akmc_in_au/image/99805453/original
(b) When you simply can't contort yourself around sufficiently to get your eye to the viewfinder. For example, there's a lookout on the road between Sydney and Canberra. The last time I was there I had to elevate the camera so far up on the tripod to get a view over the barrier that there was no way on earth I could possibly see what I was shooting, and had to make a best guess as I had only my 300D at the time. If I'd had the 40D with me, I'd have been able to get some decent framing on the shots.