Board index Equipment Digital Cameras D70 or 10D?

Digital Cameras

D70 or 10D?

knoxman

D70 or 10D?

Post Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:25 pm

I'm having quite a time deciding between the cameras here. I have used the Digital Rebel quite a bit now and can say I would greatly prefer a metal body. I have felt and was impressed with the D70, but have not had the opportunity to see the 10D. $2000 is a LOT of money for a camera (to me, since it's just a new-found hobby).

Honestly, I'm a beginner. The G5 was my last camera and I hated it (too slow and not impressed with quality), but have had iffy results with the 300D. I notice that both the D70 and 300D seemed to underexpose a bit in auto-mode... I've much more to learn, but would like to know if anyone would be able to give some idea? The D70 seems like a better camera than the 300D, but the main issue now is do I want to get "locked in" with Canon or Nikon, since it's the lenses that matter most. I know Canon has some sweet lenses...

I"m sure both are overkill for me, but I also know I won't be satisfied with the Pro1 or anything like that.

Thanks --

Michael

ukexpat

Re: D70 or 10D?

Post Thu Apr 22, 2004 2:02 pm

knoxman wrote:I'm having quite a time deciding between the cameras here. I have used the Digital Rebel quite a bit now and can say I would greatly prefer a metal body. I have felt and was impressed with the D70, but have not had the opportunity to see the 10D. $2000 is a LOT of money for a camera (to me, since it's just a new-found hobby).