Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Thoughts on Nikon D80 and other in Nikon line?

Digital Cameras

Thoughts on Nikon D80 and other in Nikon line?

donutrun

Thoughts on Nikon D80 and other in Nikon line?

Post Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:23 am

BACKGROUND: I'm a hobbyist looking to take my hobby up a notch ... I'm ready to abandon my dslr-like Minolta A200 that I've never truly loved (after loving my Minolta A1 - the factory gave me the A200 to replace the A1 I broke) ... I want to move to a true slr and have no glass that would lead me to a particular manufacturer. I'd been thinking:
    something like 10 megapixels,
    amazingly fast focus, shutter response, and card writing (as action sports are my first love),
    the ability to shoot macro (as bug pics are a close second),
    a hotshoe for an external tiltable flash (I like bouncing the light in the few people photos I take)
    image stabilization (as my hands shake), not sure if its better in lens or in camera,
    I actually like something with some weight to it (so it doesn't feel like a toy) ...

I like what I've read about the Nikon D80 -- does it seem to meet the above thougths? From what I've heard, the D80 seems to be better built than the D60 and priced less than the D300 -- is that a fair summary? But it's been on the market for 2 years, so I get nervous about purchasing one in August and the D90 hitting the market in February and being trapped in obselescence -- is that a fear that carries any merit? Should I just relax and enjoy the D80? Jump to the D60? Wait for the D90? Is there a different manufacturer that I should consider rather than nikon (the Canon 40D or XSi?)?
http://www.pbase.com/donutrun
Bored out of your skull? Visit my gallery, leave a coment.
Nikon D300 .. 18-200mm 1:3.5-5.6 VR .. 85mm 1:1.8 .. 50mm 1:1.8
Manfrotto 682B monopod with the 234rc head .. SB 600
Nestled In Northwestern Vermont

prinothcat

Re: Thoughts on Nikon D80 and other in Nikon line?

Post Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:26 am