Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Tamron Di II 18-250 or Sigma 18-200 OS for Canon?

Digital Cameras

Tamron Di II 18-250 or Sigma 18-200 OS for Canon?

blackadder41

Tamron Di II 18-250 or Sigma 18-200 OS for Canon?

Post Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:40 pm

I'm an amatuer wanting to replace my 18-55mm and 75-300mm mkIII USM Canon lenses for my 400D EOS as I'm missing opportunities when changing lenses, or when not carrying my longer lens. I'm tempted by the Tamron and seen good reviews, but wonder what your views are on it not having OS. Is the larger and heavier Sigma with range only up to 200mm a better bet as it has OS? It also gets good reviews. I'm torn between the two and would appreciate your advice. Many thanks. i'm new to pbase as well so look forward to some replies!

djwixx

Re: Tamron Di II 18-250 or Sigma 18-200 OS for Canon?

Post Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:14 pm

You could also consider the Tamron 24-300mm VC if you want the longer range with VC being Tamrons OS equivalent.

I've heard a lot of hit and miss stories about Sigma quality control (nothing I've experienced) so that's normally a reason for me not to consider their lenses.

blackadder41

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 7:56 am

Thanks Dave, very helpful. I'm assuming you mean the 28-300mm, or is there a 24-300mm that I've missed? Not sure if I'd miss the 18-28 range, but I could keep my 18-55 lens to give me the flexibility. Options, options! Cheers

djwixx

Post Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:46 pm

blackadder41 wrote:Thanks Dave, very helpful. I'm assuming you mean the 28-300mm, or is there a 24-300mm that I've missed? Not sure if I'd miss the 18-28 range, but I could keep my 18-55 lens to give me the flexibility. Options, options! Cheers