Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Digital Camera Resolutions & dpi

Digital Cameras

Digital Camera Resolutions & dpi

lenny22

Digital Camera Resolutions & dpi

Post Sun Apr 04, 2004 3:09 pm

I am looking for some advice on the subject of digital camera resolutions. I am fairly new to photography and presumed that the number of megapixels were the key to resolution.

I have recently bought a 5 megapixel Sony DSCV-1 but have noticed that the maximum dpi resolution I can get is 72dpi. Samples from other sites always show this resolution for this camera.

I have also noticed that image samples for cameras such as the Nikon D70 can show resolutions of 300 dpi, or Canon EOS 300D at 180dpi for some samples.

The question I'd like to ask is whether these more advanced SLR cameras automatically take a higher dpi resolution image or whether the resolution can be manually adjusted on these cameras?

castledude

Post Sun Apr 04, 2004 4:16 pm

DPI is a meaningless term with cameras .. Ignore it it's just a number put in as a place holder.

The numbers that are important are the resolution (6MP, 8MP ect).

a 3000x2000 picture from a Nikon has the same resolution as the 3000x2000 picture from a Canon.

DPI does not really have any meaning except on flat bed scanners. When you scan at a certain resolution 300 dpi means you are getting 300 dots of information for each 1" of scanned image.

Printers will specify in DPI ... It is also pretty much meaningless. The important number for printers is PPI (which is very hard to find, and with multi colored inks is hard to calculate). The exception is Dye Sub printers which have and interchangeable DPI and PPI value.

eddiep

Making DPI sense

Post Wed Apr 14, 2004 11:16 am