Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Nikon or Canon?

Digital Cameras

Nikon or Canon?

mkj

Nikon or Canon?

Post Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:05 am

Hi All,

I have been using Nikon D-80 for 5 months. I was not very happy with it mainly because there is no sensor cleaning option & for some reason I kept on feeling that Canon has more vibrant colors (mainly from various online pics & especially PBase) so on back of mind I wasn't very sure if did the right choice by going with Nikon. Now I have sold my D-80 & need to get a new camera, the options I have:

Nikon D300 or Canon (not sure which one yet). I would really appreciate if someone can help me out of here as I need to buy the new camera urgently. This question is haunting me !

Cheers,
K

djwixx

Post Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:54 pm

The D80 gives you full control of the colour and how rich that colour is. I suspect the white balance options on your D80 were still defaulted to 0. Try -3 to make them brighter. How often did you change the lens on the D80? Dust shouldn't be that much of a problem, and is easily correctable. Given all the user options on a D80 to give you the results you wanted I would have to question whether spending another $2000 will improve that for you. The D300 will pose similar issues with user control of the results, as will any Canon DSLR. The Canon 40D will probably be a similar consideration to the Nikon D300.

At the end of the day a Canon or a Nikon is down to user choice and both make excellent cameras.

Bear in mind the results you see online aren't necessarily what the camera has taken. You'll find most people post process or process from raw so what you see is not what was taken.

See http://forum.pbase.com/viewtopic.php?t=36102&highlight= for a similar conversation.

prinothcat

Post Sat Feb 09, 2008 8:32 pm