Board index Equipment Digital Cameras 400mm 2.8L IS

Digital Cameras

400mm 2.8L IS

toosnvetts

400mm 2.8L IS

Post Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:45 am

Hi, folks. I am a novice photographer and have been shooting just a year with a Canon 400D. I shoot mostly birds and some other wildlife. I have a 700-200 4L IS that I love. I also have a prime 50mm 1.8 that I like in addition to the kit lens.

I have just about decided to bite the bullet and buy what I really want, a 400mm 2.8L IS. Am I rushing it? Also, I need input on how to, most effectively, mount it on a tripod. I have heard of gimbel mounts and would like to know more about tripod shooting with these long and heavy lenses. I also have a monopod.

Thank you for any help or ideas.

djwixx

Post Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:39 am

At $6,000+ I would suggest it's a rush :shock:

Do you plan to spend hours in the field waiting for that shot? Would a 1.7TC on your 70-200 (maybe upgrade to a 70-200 F2.8 ) give you some scope to consider whether you want to put down so much cash? If you're desperate to spend some money you could try a 300 F4 with a 1.4TC and at least have two focal lengths.

toosnvetts

Post Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:43 am

I have a 1.4TC for my 70-200 L4 and it works fine but the 5.6 maximum aperture means shooting in good light. I must say that I am almost retired at 60 years old, exercise daily and live in south Louisiana right in the middle of numerous bird sanctuaries and state parks. I believe I could take some exceptional pictures handheld but I do like to sit a blind as well.