Board index Equipment Digital Cameras EOS 1D Mk1

Digital Cameras

EOS 1D Mk1

clarel

EOS 1D Mk1

Post Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:55 am

Dear friends,

I currently have a 30D and I have come accross a deal for a (highly) used EOS 1D at a reasonnable price... I wanted to hear your feedback, in 2007 is it still worth buying a 1D Mk1? I can't afford a MkII but I wanted to experience the buld quality of a 1-series.

Are any of you still using your 1D mk1 or have you long upgraded? I am no pro btw, so I suppose that I don't have the constraints of a working photographer who'd depend on his gear.

Thoughts please?

thank you
Clarel

snappingturtle

Post Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:31 pm

Yes, it's still a great camera. I have still seen it deployed in the athletic fields in a handful amount to this day, although the 1D Mark II and Mark IIN outnumber it.

I would compare it with up to date prosumer cameras like the 40D. Yes it is faster and tougher built, but also ask if you need a larger LCD, playback magnification, and better resolution with better ISO performance CMOS sensors. All in which the 1D lack and the cameras like the 40D, your 30D, and even the new digital rebel series all enjoy.

Also bear in mind that the 1 series have no automatic modes. So if you are dependent on the mode dail in the basic zone, you will have a problem with the 1 series.

But sure it is a great camera. It will still give you fantastic pictures as long as you do your part. I would say as long as the price range is no higher than $1,500. You will be using a "outdated", but "reliable" camera.

marxz

Post Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:36 am

if it is cheap then knock your self out,
at 4.48 Megapixels it still has enough pixels (and more importantly resolves them very well) to make A4 size prints.