Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Help Nikon D40 or Canon EOS 350D

Digital Cameras

Help Nikon D40 or Canon EOS 350D

gurdhaliwal

Help Nikon D40 or Canon EOS 350D

Post Sun Nov 04, 2007 8:31 pm

Please Help Me,

I want to purchase a new DSLR I am a novice when it comes to cameras which one should i buy Nikon D4o or Canon EOS 350D

any help would be appreciated

Gur Dhaliwal

ernst

Post Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:31 pm

Just a matter of personal taste. Go and check how they feel in your hands.
I think the Nikon has newer technology, but Canon has a better reputation with high iso noise.
And remember that you are buying into a system. Once you buy a brand, you are stuck with it and all its pros and cons.

dang

Post Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:49 am

I own a couple of 350's, and find they work well for the price. They also auto-focus with the full line of lenses, unlike the Nikon D-40 and D-40x. I'd suggest you read the reviews here:
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canoneos350d/

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond40/

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond40x/

Lenses are your primary investment, especially with new bodies being released each year. So, you might want to check lens prices, and compare them instead. I highly recommend buying the best glass possible, to avoid having to replace it later on. This is the primary problem I find with the D-40 series, since it's limits your selection starting out. Tough most of the lenses offered by Nikon will work manually, it can still be somewhat limiting in certain situations.
Good luck, and have fun whatever you buy.

marxz

Post Mon Nov 05, 2007 8:01 am

ernst wrote:Just a matter of personal taste. Go and check how they feel in your hands.
I think the Nikon has newer technology, but Canon has a better reputation with high iso noise.
And remember that you are buying into a system. Once you buy a brand, you are stuck with it and all its pros and cons.

until you ditch brand x camera on e-bay and swap to brand y :P