Board index Equipment Digital Cameras D300 or D3? - A beginner to digital

Digital Cameras

D300 or D3? - A beginner to digital

brandywine

D300 or D3? - A beginner to digital

Post Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:53 pm

I would like to switch to digital. (I know, I took my time).
I've always used Nikons, currently shoot the F6. I'm not a professional. This is just a hobby. But what is important to me, is a camera I can use under any circumstances - cold, heat, dusty or rain, etc...

Any inputs?

P.S. - All my current lenses are AF-S, from the wide 17-35 2.8 to the 600 4.0. Are they acceptable to the digitals?

Thank you.

jdepould

Post Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:49 am

Those lenses will work.

Biggest decision you have to make is full frame sensor or APS-C size. The D3 has a full 35mm sensor, so the lenses will give you the same results you'd get with film. The D300 has a smaller sensor, which introduces a crop factor of approximately 1.5 (50mm would have the same field of view as a 75mm on a full frame). I'd say get the D300, I use a 200 and it's great, full weather sealing, 5fps, magnesium frame, etc.
Nikon D300, D200
Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, 55mm f/1.4 micro, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G DX, 80-200 f/2.8D
Apple PowerBook G4, MacBook Pro
Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop CS3

brandywine

Post Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:27 am

Thanks for the info.
It is rather enticing to be able to use my 600mm as a 900mm.
I was at first leaning towards the D3. Now I will get both.

Thanks again.

teiladay

Re: D300 or D3? - A beginner to digital

Post Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:45 am

No one can realistically recommend a lens/camera before knowing what you typically shoot :) *If you shoot architectual structures 90% of the time, then it would be counter productive for you to purchase the D300. If you shoot wildlife from a'far and sports 90% of the time.. then it wouldn't make sense to purchase the D3.