Board index Equipment Digital Cameras IS(Image Stabler) lens or smaller F stop lens?

Digital Cameras

IS(Image Stabler) lens or smaller F stop lens?

zpcanada

IS(Image Stabler) lens or smaller F stop lens?

Post Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:07 pm

If I don't want to pay the price for both features, which feature should I go for? I am a beginner, with a Canon 350, 17-55mm, and 70-300mm, thinking about buying a lens for low light.

Thanks

gemmf

Post Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:16 pm

Depends on what you'll be photographing with it. If you are trying to prevent the blur caused by subject movement, then a fast lens (e.g. f2.8 ) would be more ideal (e.g. indoor sport) but if you are just trying to avoid the camera shake, then IS could be more ideal. However, it also depends how 'low light' it will be, because no f2.8 or IS could substitute a good solid tripod.
Last edited by gemmf on Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

jdepould

Post Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:28 pm

I'm in love with image stabilization especially with longer lenses. Even with faster shutter speeds it's great for action, eliminates the need for a monopod.
Nikon D300, D200
Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, 55mm f/1.4 micro, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G DX, 80-200 f/2.8D
Apple PowerBook G4, MacBook Pro
Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop CS3

alexphotos

Post Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:25 am

Depend on whant your shoting and IS is cool but if I would have the option I will go with faster speed (smaller F stop) And is on a long lens will help but you still need a monopod (I know I have a 70-200 F2.8 IS) the lens just get so heavy after a long day and the monopod is welcome.

If you whan t low light go with smaller F stop. Is wont make your subjet not move. Is will jelp you to stay steady but your subject still can move (even plant in wind) So for low light I recommand faster F I will help you get faster shutter to freez the subject. SOme time 1 stop is more they you need. Like a kid playing !