Board index Equipment Digital Cameras New Lens

Digital Cameras

New Lens

michaelachan

New Lens

Post Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:56 am

Hey Guys,

So I have a Canon Eos305D with a, well I'd like to think, a pretty rubbish 18-55mm lense. Im thinking of getting a new one, being a student I have a fairly low budget, but I wouldn't mind spending about £150.

Does anybody have any recommendations, I recently played around with a fantastic lens on the 20D where you could adjust the depth of field and it had an amazing focal range.

Any recommendations would be wondeful :] xx

jdepould

Post Thu Mar 08, 2007 1:26 am

If you're on a budget a 50mm prime is always a good place to start, and it won't set you back much.
Nikon D300, D200
Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D, 55mm f/1.4 micro, 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G DX, 80-200 f/2.8D
Apple PowerBook G4, MacBook Pro
Adobe Lightroom, Photoshop CS3

adz929

Post Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:12 am

I've seen some pretty amazing stuff come out of the Canon 18-55 kit lens, however, as stated, you're best bet would be a 50mm prime.
adz929...The protanomolous photographer...

Pixel peepers...bah, humbug!

mattmyles06

Post Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:16 pm

I agree with the rest. Get the EF 50mm f/1.8 II prime lens. It will cost you around $100 (canadian dollars) . I got mine for $90 new.

gemmf

Post Sat Mar 10, 2007 3:13 pm

adz929 wrote:I've seen some pretty amazing stuff come out of the Canon 18-55 kit lens.....

Me too. And I certainly wouldn't call it rubbish. If you think the lens is rubbish, of course the image would seem rubbish. Ok, it's not the best lens around, but I still believe it can produce great images when it's used properly. It's my opinion anyway. And you can adjust DoF with 18-55mm. :?

ericvision

Post Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:27 pm

The 18-55 will out-perform most lenses within your budget... The only exception being the 50mm 1.8 that everyone else has recommended. You're still going to have to keep the kit lens for wide angled shots, though.