Board index Equipment Digital Cameras infra red and digital cameras

Digital Cameras

infra red and digital cameras

mpdequalsyfsm

infra red and digital cameras

Post Fri Feb 06, 2004 1:13 pm

This question was asked by Shaun in the Show and Tells section.
“While we're on the subject of Ir shots... Has anyone done or know of anyone doing Ir work with the 10d or 300d? I see that JR is using a D100 which seems to do just fine with Ir work, what about Canon's DSLR's?
Or any of the other DSLR's for that matter.... “

I am new to the Rebel 300D and I don’t know anything about infra red,other than I really like the look, and I thought Shaun’s initial question was a good start.

Thank you.

Link the the thread in Show and Tell:
http://forum.pbase.com/viewtopic.php?p=13545#13545

castledude

Post Fri Feb 06, 2004 6:08 pm

Try an empirical test. Go to a dark room with the infrared remote control from your TV or stereo. Set the exposure to 1 second (no flash) and push the button on the remote at the same time as you fire the shutter. If the focal plane on the Rebel is sensative to IR then you will see it in the picture.

If it works you can then buy a good filter (warning about $100-$200) or play with some of the cheaper "poor man" alternatives (layers of film, old floppy disks, etc).

ultraweaver

Post Fri Feb 06, 2004 9:08 pm

[quote="castledude"]Try an empirical test. Go to a dark room with the infrared remote control from your TV or stereo. Set the exposure to 1 second (no flash) and push the button on the remote at the same time as you fire the shutter. If the focal plane on the Rebel is sensative to IR then you will see it in the picture.
quote]

Thanks for the posts.

I tried this on the DRebel. I pointed the remotes IR emitter and the IR came out to be a circular fuzzy circle in my snapshot. So if I performed the test right I assume that the DRebel is sensitive enough and all that is needed is a filter?