Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Canon EOS 300D & EOS 10D durability

Digital Cameras

Canon EOS 300D & EOS 10D durability

snappingturtle

Canon EOS 300D & EOS 10D durability

Post Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:15 pm

Hi,

Through reviews and descriptions, the Canon 10D is more durable than the 300D Digital rebel. But my photo advisor told me that in the long run, niether camera is more survivable than the other. Now I am not good at physics, but his remarks got me curious. Here is what he says:

Digital rebel: If the camera recieves a shocking blow, the plastic body will shatter, absorbing the concussion. This results in the body ruined and the camera out of service, although the internal parts may survive.

EOS 10D : When given a blow, the magnesium alloy body resists the damage, reducing the chances of a breakage however, when it resists the shock, the concussion would attack the interior of the camera, damaging vital components such as the chip.

In his conclusion, there is a trade of with plastic and magnesium alloy and niether the Rebel or the 10D should be considered more durable than the other.

In my conclusion no matter what camera you have, if you have shaky hands or have a high record of clumsy breakage, you should not handle some $1000 + precision instrument.

What do you fellow photographers think?

Hugh
Last edited by snappingturtle on Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shecodes

Post Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:18 pm

I think I have an extended warrenty on my Canon DR and my good lenses, so I don't worry about it. I'd be more worried about the memory card malfunctioning.

bobtrips

Post Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:42 pm

In some circumstances plastic is a more desirable material than is metal. Your reasoning may be correct, plastic might absorb more energy than would metal. The plastic case may break, metal may deform thus transferring the force on to the camera's innards.