Board index Equipment Digital Cameras Student looking to go digital, and I have a few questions!

Digital Cameras

Student looking to go digital, and I have a few questions!

so which should I go with? nikon d100, the canon 10d, or the canon EOS 300D

nikon d100
13%
canon 10d
38%
canon EOS 300D rebel
50%

Total votes : 8

hellopike

Student looking to go digital, and I have a few questions!

Post Thu Jan 15, 2004 1:49 pm

Hey all, I'm a photography student at the Art Institute of Philadelphia and I'm thinking that I want to make the jump to a Digital slr thie year when I get my tax return. =) Mainly because, as it stands I have images due tuesday, and the school installed a new operating system in the computer labs, causing all the film scanners to become non-fuctioning... yeah. I'm going to have to go digital at some point, so why not soon, right? I have the computer, a good printer, the digital camera is the next step.

So the question is, in my situation, what would you go for? Right now I'm considering eith the nikon d100, the canon 10d, or the canon EOS 300D. I'm leaning towards the rebel, simply for the price. I'm a broke college student, you know? I work part time at a retail job. Money is most certainly a factor. Right now I'm shooting with a Minolta Maxxum 5, so whatever I choose, I'm going to have to reinvest in some lenses. I've accepted that. This is why the rebel is the most appealing at the moment. The rebel is under $1000 and has a kit lens. The other two at between $300-500 more, just for the body.

I suppose what I'm asking, is there any outstanding reason I should go for either of the more expensive ones? I understand the rebel is plastic construction, but I'm not terribly worried about that. I'm not a rough photographer. Is the image quality significantly better than the rebel?

I also have a question about the rebel- what is highest resolution the camera outputs? Will it output aprox. 300 dpi?