Board index Equipment Digital Cameras New to digital SLRs

Digital Cameras

New to digital SLRs

snappingturtle

New to digital SLRs

Post Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:21 pm

Hi, :wink:

I am getting a Canon EOS digital rebel. I work for my college as a photographer. I am very new to these. I need to know more basics about these cameras and lenses. If you can help me in anyway, I would greatly appreciate it.

At the same time, I have one question about zooming in. Is it true that the more you zoom with a lens in optically, the fuzzier the subject gets even with the high shutter speed?

Thanks,

Hugh

jseah

Post Sat Dec 27, 2003 2:55 pm

Shooting with a digital SLR is the same as shooting with a film SLR.

Yes, it is true that as you zoom in, a faster shutter speed is required. This is because at longer focal lengths, any camera shake is much more evident and will require a faster shutter speed to prevent a blurry shot.

brennan

Post Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:43 pm

Look in pbase for people who's work you would like to emulate and chech out their profiles to see what they are shooting with. If you want to shoot sports and I want to shoot insect life we should not be shooting with the same equipment.
That said I have had my d300 ( it sounds cooler than digital rebel ro kiss don't ya think?) since September and while it lacks the bells and whistles of a 6K camers it is my favorite toy/tool. You will enjoy it.