Board index Equipment Photo Editing Software Where is ACDSee Categories saved?

Photo Editing Software

Where is ACDSee Categories saved?

drsatan

Where is ACDSee Categories saved?

Post Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:41 am

The categories are quite useful, but there's no point spending time assigning 9000+ photos if all is lost next time I reinstall my operating system. How can I get to the database file and make a backup? For some reason I can't get a straight answer from the ACD so-called intelligent cyber-online-faq-agent or watchumacallid.

I'm using ACDSee Powerpack 5

drsatan

Post Wed Jan 19, 2005 2:56 am

Oh... this is my first time at this site, and I just realized that my username might offend someone...

That's not my intention. I just found the character name too silly and absurd not to use in some way - now I probably get sued or something for violating copyright laws as it is a character form the 40's cliffhanger series "The Mysterious Doctor Satan" played by Eduardo Cianelli, whoever that is.

But neverless... his evil contraptions - especially the rather slow moving robot with the obligatory black eye-slit that sort of held people to death - still managed to evade my childhood nightmares back in the early eighties.

That said, I hope for forgiveness by anyone offended and tolerance as well for those who find this way off topic :D

Now, answer my question, please.

castledude

Post Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:34 am

Believe me there are more offensive names than Dr Satan...

I quit using ACDSEE after the version 4.0 fiasco so I'm not sure. But I think under tools->Options there was a selection that allowed you to set where the database is. It was called "imagedb.ddf" (I think).