Board index Equipment Photo Editing Software Photoshop 8 vs. older versions

Photo Editing Software

Photoshop 8 vs. older versions

ukwildkitty

Photoshop 8 vs. older versions

Post Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:42 pm

I am new to the digital dark room and am currently using Photoshop Elements 2.0 and like what I can do with it, but I want to do more. Should I invest the $300 on 8 or would it be wiser for me to use an older version that is much less expensive. Any advice would be much appreciated.

castledude

Post Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:02 pm

Depends on what you mean by doing more...

If you want more special effects "fun stuff" look into some add on filters (they will work even if you upgrade later).

My favorites for fun stuff are http://www.flamingpear.com and http://www.alienskin.com (eyecandy and xenofex).

If what you want is more control and a lot more layering features then Photoshop CS is the way to go. If you can find a really cheap copy of an older version buy it, then buy the CS upgrade (it's cheaper that way).

Also don't forget about educational discounts. Here in the US we can get a copy of Photoshop CS for the upgrade price with a little help from a friend attending school.

Also I would suggest the books by Scott Kelby they have some really good tricks in them in a really readable format.

Good luck..

ukexpat

Re: Photoshop 8 vs. older versions

Post Mon Aug 23, 2004 2:03 pm

ukwildkitty wrote:I am new to the digital dark room and am currently using Photoshop Elements 2.0 and like what I can do with it, but I want to do more. Should I invest the $300 on 8 or would it be wiser for me to use an older version that is much less expensive. Any advice would be much appreciated.