Board index Equipment Photo Editing Software Photo Downloading from Camera

Photo Editing Software

Photo Downloading from Camera

jessitt

Photo Downloading from Camera

Post Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:43 am

I am brand new to this so please bare with me here. When you download pics from your DSLR do you do so into "My Pictures", then transfer to Picassa or Photoshop, or ???. I have a cheap camera now and download into My pictures then Picassa imports them, then I have to export back to "My Pictures". My question is this. Am I using alot of space on my hard drive because I have 2 copies of each photo on my puter, one in MP and one in Picassa. It seems kind of redundant. I also do alot of selling on Ebay, so do I need these photos in "My Pictures" or can I store them somewhere else so that Ebay can access them??

Any help would be appreciated.

Confused in VT,
Rich

castledude

Post Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:22 pm

http://picasa.google.com/support/bin/an ... topic=9342

How do I change the import location in Picasa?

You can change the location on your hard drive where Picasa imports photos to.

1. Open Picasa > "Tools" > "Options" > "General"
2. At the bottom of the "General" tab is a section labeled "Save Imported Pictures In:"
3. Click "Browse."
4. Select the location on your hard drive you wish imported photos to be stored
5. Click "OK."
6. Click "OK" again

Picasa will now store imported photos in the drive location you specified.

carpman1962

Post Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:36 am

I'm sure i'm totally wrong (normally am :oops: ) but when Picassa "imports" the pictures is this exactly what it does. I assumed that it just logged their destination(s) within the Picassa program, not actually duplicated them. For instance, if you right click on an image it will give you an option to find/go to the image on your disk (hard drive).

If this is so then there isn't twice the space being used :wink:

jessitt

Post Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:35 am