Board index Equipment Photo Editing Software Hot pixel removal

Photo Editing Software

Hot pixel removal

mickspics

Hot pixel removal

Post Sat Nov 15, 2003 9:19 pm

I'm an astronomy research student and CCDs used in astronomical detectors usually have hundreds of hot pixels in a frame. To get round this we simply take a dark frame (ie an exposure of darkness) which will show up the hot pixels and then this dark frame is simply divided into the proper exposures to cancel out the hot pixels.

Does anyone know if there is a program that can be used to do this for standard JPEG images from a digital camera? I have an annoying hot pixel with my camera and it would be great if I could take a dark frame with the lens cap on and quickly divide this into a large batch of photos rather than fiddling with each one manually in photoshop.

decloedt

Re: Hot pixel removal

Post Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:06 am

mickspics wrote:Does anyone know if there is a program that can be used to do this for standard JPEG images from a digital camera? I have an annoying hot pixel with my camera and it would be great if I could take a dark frame with the lens cap on and quickly divide this into a large batch of photos rather than fiddling with each one manually in photoshop.

Get the program called Black Frame here:

http://www.mediachance.com/digicam/blackframe.htm

It'll take care of that for you.

455rocket

Hot pixels gone!!!!!!!

Post Fri Jan 28, 2005 9:56 pm