Board index PBase Questions and Answers Serious question....not a criticism!

Questions and Answers

Serious question....not a criticism!

Ask if you need help using PBase.
juliano

Serious question....not a criticism!

Post Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:58 pm

Okay, the last few days have been frustrating and no doubt Slug and his tiny crew have been working flat out to put things in order.

But I understand that PBase is really just Slug and two able helpers, both college students (happy to be corrected on that one). This begs the question - what happens if Slug is ill, hit by a car, drops dead or whatever - who administers PBase then? What if it all goes tits-up; who will be around to fix it?

I'm not a fan of top heavy administration, but perhaps Slug needs to consider a team of admins spread around the globe who could help, even on a voluntary basis to start with? I'm no techie so perhaps there are technical reasons why this can't be done, but I am concerned that the load for Slug will soon be too much and we'll suffer a much more catastrophic loss.

Like I said - this isn't a criticism, just a concern. By and large I think Slug and Co. do a first rate job and PBase is the premier photo hosting site on the web.

Regards,

David.

juliano

Post Tue Aug 19, 2003 6:34 pm

Well, you have the option of saving your own images before you even place them on Pbase. If any one image is so precious, back it up.
The idea of "what if something should happen";
after all they are only images (not nearly as important as a life)
I think Pbase is a wonderful opportunity for photographers to share and learn from. For me, the experience has made me want to create better images, not save the the old ones. I understand that family photographs are usually to be saved... no reason not to save and to share with some small risk. ???

vincentosullivan

Post Sat Aug 23, 2003 7:27 am

Anonymous wrote:...you have the option of saving your own images before you even place them on Pbase...